Sixth Sense Alice Aycock, Monica Bonvicini, Dadamaino, Lesley Foxcroft, Caro Jost, Julia Mangold, Karin Sander 20.10.2018 - 22.12.2018

“Sixth Sense” unites seven international artists, who create works in between painting and sculpture from unusual materials.

Alice Aycock lives in the middle of Greene Street in New York. Coming from the Land Art movement, she developed a complex sculptural work of futuristic buildings and technoid, dynamic environments.

Monica Bonvicini was born in Venice and lives in Berlin. Her works, which at first glance often appear aggressive, are full of time-critical comments, narratively using symbolic objects borrowed from the product world.

Dadamaino (1930-2004) was the Grande Dame of the Milan art scene centered around the group Azimuth, which included Fontana, Castellani and Manzoni, and formed the Italian equivalent to ZERO in the Rhineland, the Nouvelles Realistes in Southern France and the Dutch NUL-artists.

The works of Lesley Foxcroft are characterized by the simplicity of materials used and their captivatingly simple mounting in space and onto the walls. From her studio in Hatfield near London we will receive wall reliefs from the series “Rubberband”.

Caro Jost changes the classic panel painting, which through an individual handling of folding and solidifying, transforms into a wall relief. In her current series of paintings, she uses photo material of her own works, which were created in New York in 2011.

In 1997 Julia Mangold was the youngest artist to be included, with several pieces, in the world-famous collection Panza di Biumo. As a sculptor she works in the tradition of classic Minimal Art using steel and wood. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Conceptual artists Karin Sander started her series of Mailed paintings in 2004. Working out of her Berlin studio and the entire world abroad, she sends white primed canvases and through that action puts the artistic process of creation out of her own hands. Everyone in Munich knows her work Montgelas at Promenadeplatz.

all photos by Florian Holzherr

back

Sixth Sense Alice Aycock, Monica Bonvicini, Dadamaino, Lesley Foxcroft, Caro Jost, Julia Mangold, Karin Sander 20.10.2018 - 22.12.2018

“Sixth Sense” vereint sieben internationale Künstlerinnen, die mit ungewöhnlichen Materialien Werke im Zwischenbereich von Malerei und Skulptur schaffen.

Alice Aycock lebt in mitten der Greene Street von New York. Aus der Land Art Bewegung kommend entwickelte sie ein vielschichtiges bildhauerisches Werk mit futuristischen, illusionistischen Gebäuden und technoiden, dynamischen Environments.

Monica Bonvicini wurde in Venedig geboren und lebt in Berlin. Ihre auf den ersten Blick aggressiv auftretenden Werke mit deutlichen zeitkritischen Kommentaren werden getragen durch den narrativen Einsatz von symbolhaften Gegenständen aus der Produktwelt.

Dadamaino (1930-2004) war die Grande Dame der Mailänder Kunstszene um die Gruppe Azimuth mit Fontana, Castellani, Manzoni, die seit Mitte der 50er Jahre das italienische Äquivalent zu ZERO im Rheinland, den Nouvelles Realistes in Südfrankreich und den niederländischen NUL Künstlern bildete.

Die Werke von Lesley Foxcroft zeichnen sich aus durch die Einfachheit der verwendeten Rohstoffe und die bestechend simple Art und Weise der Befestigung im Raum und an den Wänden. Aus ihrem Studio in Hatfield in der Nähe von London erhalten wir Wandreliefs aus der Serie “Rubberband”.

Caro Jost verändert das klassische Tafelbild, das in einer individuellen Handhabung gefaltet und gefestigt zu einem Wandrelief mutiert. In ihrer aktuellen Bildserie verwendet sie Fotomaterial mit Ansichten eigener Bildwerke, entstanden 2011 in New York.

Julia Mangold wurde 1997 mit mehreren Werken als jüngste Künstlerin in die weltberühmte Sammlung Panza di Biumo aufgenommen. Als Bildhauerin arbeitet sie in der Tradition der klassischen Minimalart in Stahl und Holz. Sie lebt in Portland, Oregon.

Die Konzeptkünstlerin Karin Sander begann 2004 mit ihrer Serie der Mailed Paintings. Aus ihrem Berliner Studio und der ganzen Welt verschickt sie schlicht weiß grundierte Leinwände und gibt durch diese Handlung den künstlerischen Malprozess in fremde Hände. Jeder in München kennt ihren Montgelas am Promenadeplatz.

zurück