roland fischer Façades 25.02.2015 - 25.04.2015

The focus of our seventh exhibition with photoworks by Roland Fischer lies on the group of works Facades.

Since the 1990s Fischer created a series of more than a hundred facades, a vocabulary of global architecture, an inventory of the metropolis’ landmarks, which is now gathered in one publication. During the show’s opening on the evening of February 24, we present the extensive monograph Roland Fischer Facades, published by Petra Giloy-Hirtz, Hirmer Verlag Munich. During the book presentation the limited Multiple “Lenbachhaus”  will be on show.

In Facades Roland Fischer unties the architecture from its urban context and focuses on its pure superficial shell. Reducing his focus to only a detailed view of the complete facade, he transfers tangible surface structures into abstract, graphic compositions that have freed themselves from their original context. What’s left are colour, structure and rhythm that refer to their real urban image, as well as non-realistic figures and systems.
At the same time the series reflects the evolution of a universal architectural language, that arises from globalization in metropolitan centers that are characterized by concerns, banks and investment companies.

In addition to that we will be showing several new works from the series New Architectures, photographs that disassemble contemporary and modern architecture into splinters in a quasi-cubistic manner. Put together in new combinations they are searching for the essence of the building.

Roland Fischer, born in 1958, who lives and works in Beijing and Munich, is one of the key figures of German contemporary photography. ‘Photo Technik International’ names him as one of the top ten German photographers. His work has been presented in many national and international exhibitions and is a part of numerous public collections. He was given solo shows in more than 40 different museums and institutions, like Musee d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich, Centro Galego de Arte Contemporaneo (CGAC), Santiago de Compostela, Saarlandmuseum, Saarbrücken, Museo Casal Solleric, Palma, The Photographers’ Gallery, London, Kunstmuseum Nijmegen, Kunsthalle Bielefeld and the Goethe-Institut, Hongkong.

back

roland fischer Façades 25.02.2015 - 25.04.2015

Der Schwerpunkt unserer siebten Einzelpräsentation des Künstlers liegt auf der Werkgruppe der Facades.

Seit den Neunzigerjahren ist eine Serie von über hundert Fassaden entstanden, ein Vokabularium der globalen Architektur, ein Inventar der Landmarks der Metropolen, das nun in einer umfangreichen Monographie, herausgegeben von Petra Giloy-Hirtz, Hirmer Verlag München, vorliegt. Anlässlich der Buchpremiere präsentieren wir am Abend des 24. Februars das limitierte Multiple zum Motiv „Lenbachhaus“.

In den Facades löst Roland Fischer die Architektur aus ihrem urbanen Kontext und konzentriert sich auf ihre rein äußerliche Hülle. Dabei reduziert er seinen Blick auf einen Detailausschnitt aus der kompletten Fassade und überführt reale Oberflächenstrukturen in abstrakte, grafische Kompositionen. Übrig bleiben Farbe, Struktur, Rhythmen, die sich neben dem realen urbanen Abbild auch auf nicht-wirklichkeitsrelevante Zeichen und Systeme beziehen.
Gleichzeitig spiegelt sich in der Serie der Entstehungsprozess einer universalen architektonische Sprache, die durch die Globalisierung in den vor allem durch Konzerne, Banken und Investmentgesellschaften geprägten Großstadtzentren entstanden ist.

Zusätzlich zeigen wir einige jüngst entstandene Arbeiten aus der Werkgruppe New Architectures, Fotografien, die in quasi-kubistischer Manier zeitgenössische und moderne Architektur in Splitter zerlegen und in neuer Kombination nach dem Wesenskern des Gebäudes suchen.

Roland Fischer, geboren 1958, lebt in München und Beijing, ist eine der Schlüsselfiguren der deutschen zeitgenössischen Fotokunst. Photo Technik International zählt ihn neben Demand, Gursky, Ruff und Struth zu den 10 wichtigsten Fotografen Deutschlands. Sein Werk wird weltweit ausgestellt und ist in bedeutenden privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen vertreten. Einzelausstellungen fanden statt in über 40 Museen und Institutionen wie Musee d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Pinakothek der Moderne, München, Centro Galego de Arte Contemporaneo (CGAC), Santiago de Compostela, Saarlandmuseum, Saarbrücken, Museo Casal Solleric, Palma, The Photographers’ Gallery, London, Kunstmuseum Nijmegen, Kunsthalle Bielefeld, Goethe-Institut, Hongkong.

zurück