claudia bitran | be drunk 26.11.2020 - 13.02.2021

In her first solo exhibition in Europe, the up-and-coming New York multimedia artist Claudia Bitran is presenting her newest series of works at Walter Storms Gallery under the title “Be Drunk”, based on the poem by Charles Baudelaire. Her two-part works each consist of a painting and a video clip, which build a bridge between social media posts, classical painting and new media.

Claudia Bitran has a very special working mode because she paints and photographs in equal measure. She starts with a painted scenario on canvas, photographs this finished state and paints over it in the next step. She does this several times alternately until the painting is completed. The individual photos, strung together like in a comic strip, become a moving video clip and accompany the painting like a documentation of the many motifs that are now invisible and hidden on the canvas. Bitran calls this “Stop-Motion-Painting-Animation”.

In terms of content, Bitran’s works on canvas refer to videos from various social networks, which are voluntarily uploaded by their users and made available to the public. By reusing them Bitran wants to extract truths that are part of our constantly evolving visual culture.

For this exhibition, she has primarily selected video clips that can be understood in the context of Baudelaire’s poetry. In his poem “Be Drunk” from 1869, Charles Baudelaire encourages everyone to be consistently “drunk”. Being drunk need not be associated with excessive alcohol consumption, it can also be caused by anything that brings joy and happiness, creates a positive experience and the feeling of being free from the world; the carefree addiction that gives us mental and emotional satisfaction but also failure and embarrassment. At the same time, grotesque behaviors and human abysses open up just to get that longed-for “kick” or the state of “intoxication”.

back

claudia bitran | be drunk 26.11.2020 - 13.02.2021

In ihrer ersten Einzelausstellung in Europa präsentiert die aufstrebende New Yorker Multimedia Künstlerin Claudia Bitran in der Walter Storms Galerie ihre neueste Werk-reihe unter dem Titel „Be Drunk“ nach dem gleich-namigen Gedicht von Charles Baudelaire. Ihre zweiteiligen Arbeiten bestehen jeweils aus einem Gemälde und einem Videoclip, die eine Brücke zwischen Social Media Posts, klassischer Malerei und Neuen Medien schlagen.

Claudia Bitran hat einen ganz besonderen Arbeitsmodus, denn sie malt und fotografiert gleichermaßen. Sie beginnt mit einer gemalten Szenerie auf Leinwand, fotografiert diesen fertigen Zustand und übermalt ihn im nächsten Arbeitsschritt. So geschieht es mehrmals abwechselnd, bis das Bild vollendet ist. Die einzelnen Fotos, aneinandergereiht wie in einem Comic-Strip, werden zu einem bewegten Videoclip montiert und begleiten das Gemälde wie eine Dokumentation des auf der Leinwand verborgen Bildgeschehens. Bitran nennt dies „Stop-Motion-Painting-Animation“.

Inhaltlich beziehen sich Bitrans Leinwandarbeiten auf Videos aus diversen sozialen Netzwerken, die von deren Usern dort freiwillig hochgeladen und der Öffentlichkeit preisgegeben werden. Mit deren Weiterverwendung extrahiert Bitran Wahrheiten, die Teil unserer sich ständig weiterentwickelnden, visuellen Kultur sind.

Für diese Ausstellung hat Bitran vornehmlich Videos als Vorlage benutzt, die im Kontext mit Baudelaires Lyrik zu verstehen sind. In seinem Gedicht „Be Drunk“ aus dem Jahr 1869 ermuntert Charles Baudelaire alle Menschen dazu, konsequent „betrunken“ zu sein. Betrunken zu sein muss nicht mit übermäßigem Alkoholkonsum assoziiert werden, es kann auch durch alles verursacht werden, was Freude und Glück bringt, eine positive Erfahrung verursacht und das Gefühl, sich frei von der Welt zu fühlen; die unbekümmerte Sucht, die uns geistige und emotionale Freude aber auch Scheitern und Peinlichkeiten bereitet. Dabei tun sich groteske Verhaltensweisen und menschlichen Abgründe auf, nur um eben diesen ersehnten „Kick“ oder den Zustand des „Berauschtseins“ zu erlangen.

zurück