anthony james morphic fields - sculptures 27.02.2014 - 13.05.2014

We open the first German solo exhibition of British artist Anthony James (b. 1974) on February 27, 2014, at Schellingstraße 48.

For Morphic Fields, Anthony James created 21 amorphous bronze sculptures on stands of shell limestone in a Munich foundry. Inspired by Robert Rauschenberg‘s Cardboard-series, the artist submerged and molded cardboard boxes in wax, in order to burn them afterwards and cast them in bronze. That way the processual and fragile moment of transition from solid to ash was captured and perpetuated. The works investigate the concept of mortality and recollection; they reflect the relationship between our present and the mythologies of the past.
We will also be showing the sculpture Waste Land from 2014. Its title refers to a 1922 poem by T.S. Elliot, which was partially written in Munich. Through the multiple reflections of a silvered branch a boundless, eerily beautiful enchanted forest emerges.

Anthony James studied at Central Saint Martin’s College of Art and Design in London from 1994-98. After his degree, he moved to New York and in 2008 to Los Angeles, before he came to Munich in 2013. His works have been exhibited internationally, including regular participation in Art Basel in Basel and Miami Beach. They are also part of numerous private and public collections, such as the General Motors Building, New York, or the Istanbul Modern Art Museum.

During the exhibition a catalogue will be published by Hatje Cantz.

back

anthony james morphic fields - skulpturen 27.02.2014 - 13.05.2014

Wir eröffnen die erste deutsche Einzelausstellung des britischen Bildhauers Anthony James (*1974) am 27. Februar in der Schellingstraße 48 ein.

Unter dem Titel Morphic Fields schuf Anthony James in einer Münchner Gießerei 21 amorphe Bronzeskulpturen auf Muschelkalksockeln. Inspiriert von Robert Rauschenbergs Cardboard-Serie, tauchte und modellierte der Künstler Pappkartons in Wachs, um sie dann zu verbrennen und in Bronze zu gießen. Der prozesshafte, fragile Moment des Übergangs von Feststofflichkeit zu Asche wurde so eingefangen und verewigt. Die Arbeiten untersuchen das Konzept von Vergänglichkeit und Erinnerung, sie reflektieren die Beziehung zwischen unserer Gegenwart und den Mythologien der Vergangenheit.
Außerdem zeigen wir die aktuelle Skulptur Waste Land. In der an das gleichnamige, 1922 in München verfasste Gedicht von T.S. Elliot angelehnten Arbeit entsteht durch die mehrfache Spiegelung eines versilberten Astgewächses ein grenzenloser, schaurig-schöner Zauberwald.

Anthony James studierte von 1994-98 am Central Saint Martin’s College of Art and Design in London. Nach seinem Abschluss zog er nach New York und 2008 nach Los Angeles, bevor er 2013 nach München kam. Seine Arbeiten sind international erfolgreich ausgestellt worden, darunter auch regelmäßig auf der Art Basel in Basel und in Miami Beach. Sie sind in zahlreichen öffentlichen wie privaten Sammlungen vertreten, unter anderem im General Motors Gebäude in New York oder dem Istanbul Modern Art Museum.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Hatje Cantz Verlag.

zurück