albert hien Scultura Poetica. Works 1982 - 1990 15.11.2018 - 22.12.2018

For 35 years Albert Hien and I have been working together in friend- and partnership. On this occasion, we have installed a comprehensive retrospective with early works (1982 – 1990) by the Munich Academy professor at our Bogenhausen gallery.

In 1982 – as a student – Hien was invited to his first documenta participation in Kassel. What followed was a rapid career with numerous exhibitions and large-scale installations: at the new Hans-Hollein-building of the Museum Abteiberg Mönchengladbach under the aegis of legendary Johannes Cladders in 1984, at the Folkwang Museum Essen also in 1984, at the National Gallery Berlin in 1985, “Transatlantik” at the Kunsthalle Köln in 1986 and at the Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus in 1991. As curator of the German Biennale-contribution, Armin Zweite invited Albert Hien to Sao Paulo in 1985. Hien also participated in the documenta 8 in 1987.

The artist’s exciting early work is now documented in the recently published catalogue “scultura poetica”. The 248 pages strong book contains plenty of historic photographs and insightful texts in several chapters by the former director of the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Museum Krefeld, Martin Hentschel, a long-time supporter and connoisseur of Hiens’ work.

back

albert hien Scultura Poetica. Werke 1982 - 1990 15.11.2018 - 22.12.2018

Seit 35 Jahren arbeiten Albert Hien und ich freundschaftlich und partnerschaftlich zusammen. Zu diesem Anlass haben wir in der Bogenhausener Galerie eine übersichtliche Retrospektive mit frühen Arbeiten des Münchner Akademieprofessors, entstanden zwischen 1982 und 1990, eingerichtet.

Hien wurde 1982 – damals noch als Student – zu seiner ersten documenta-Teilnahme nach Kassel eingeladen. Es folgte eine rasante Karriere mit zahlreichen Ausstellungen und großen Installationen: 1984 im Hans-Hollein-Neubau des Museum Abteiberg Mönchengladbach unter der Ägide des legendären Johannes Cladders, ebenso 1984 im Folkwang Museum Essen, 1985 in der Nationalgalerie Berlin, 1986 “Transatlantik” in der Kunsthalle Köln und 1991 in der Städtischen Galerie im Lenbachhaus. 1985 lud Armin Zweite als Kurator für den Deutschen Biennale-Beitrag Albert Hien nach Sao Paulo ein. 1987 nahm Hien zum zweiten Mal, diesmal an der documenta 8 teil.

Dieses aufregende Frühwerk wird in dem aktuellen 248 seitigen Buch “scultura poetica” in zahlreichen historischen Abbildungen dokumentiert und mit kenntnisreichen Texten in mehreren Kapiteln vom ehemaligen Direktor des Kaiser-Wilhelm-Museum Krefeld, Martin Hentschel, einem langjährigen Förderer und Kenner Hiens, beschrieben.

Artikel zur Ausstellung
“Feuer, Wasser, Erde, Luft” von Thomas Betz, Münchner Feuilleton, Dezember 2018 (Nr. 80), S. 19

zurück