alf lechner 90° 06.06.2015 - 20.06.2015

Alf Lechner is one of the most important German sculptors.
His material is massive steel. Since 1960 Lechner has been designing constructive and concrete sculptures, which gain their form through calculated dividing, cutting and splitting of cubes and globes. Clear, rational thoughts precede the technical work and can be understood in the actual produced works. Even though he achieves freer solutions in techniques like compressing, folding and bursting of steel, they are still results of a controlled action while being fully aware of the material along with decades of experience in the use of strength, energy and the consequential physical reactions.

Here, in his hometown Munich, there are several large-size sculpture in public spaces, like the collection of the Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus, the sculpture space at the Alte Pinakothek or the monumental stele at the Gasteig.
In 1995 Alf Lechner became a member of the Bayerische Akademie der Schönen Künste. Since 2001 he has been living and working together with his wife Camilla in Obereichstätt, where he turned an old ironworks and former stone pit into a spectacular sculpture park with living space, studios and exhibition halls. The Alf Lechner Foundation with its impressive Lechner Museum in Ingolstadt is the keeper of his extensive work.

With this exhibition we are celebrating Alf Lechner’s 90th birthday and cordially invite you to join.

back

alf lechner 90° 06.06.2015 - 20.06.2015

Alf Lechner ist einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Bildhauer.
Sein Material ist massiver Stahl. Seit 1960 entwirft und realisiert Lechner konstruktive und konkrete Skulpturen, die ihre Form durch geplantes Teilen, Schneiden und Spalten von Würfeln, Kuben und Kugeln erhalten. Der technischen Arbeit gehen fest umrissene, rationale Überlegungen voran, die sich in den ausgeführten Werken geistig nachvollziehen lassen. Auch wenn er später in Techniken wie Stauchen, Falten, Bersten von Stahl zu freieren Lösungen kommt, so sind diese stets Resultate kontrollierten Tuns in absoluter Kenntnis des Materials und jahrzehntelangen Erfahrungen im Umgang mit Kraft, Energie und daraus folgenden physischen Reaktionen.

Hier in seiner Heimatstadt München finden sich mehrere große Skulpturen im öffentlichen Raum, z. B. in der Sammlung der Städtischen Galerie im Lenbachhaus, auf der Skulpturenfläche an der Alten Pinakothek, oder seine monumentale Stele am Gasteig.
1995 wurde Alf Lechner Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste. Seit 2001 lebt und arbeitet er mit seiner Frau Camilla in Obereichstätt im Altmühltal, wo er eine ehemalige Eisenhütte und späteren Steinbruch in einen spektakulären Skulpturenpark mit Wohnhaus, Ateliergebäude und Ausstellungshallen umwandelte. Die Alf Lechner Stiftung mit beeindruckendem Lechner Museum in Ingolstadt ist Hüter seines umfangreichen Werkes.

Mit dieser Ausstellung feiern wir den 90. Geburtstag von Alf Lechner.

zurück